• DLP won 15 of the 21 seats.


Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit led the Dominica Labour Party (DLP) to its fourth consecutive five-year term in power, after being mounted a strong challenge by the United Workers Party (UWP). Preliminary results show that the DLP won 15 of the 21 seats in the general election, with the UWP, which won a mere three seats at the last elections, doubling its tally to six.

However, Prime Minister Skerrit will have to do without his Information Minister and DLP deputy leader, Ambrose George, who lost to newcomer attorney Joshua Francis, while Health Minister Julius Timothy lost to Danny Lugay. UWP leader, Lennox Linton, who predicted earlier that his party would win 15 seats in the election, easily won the Marigot constituency which he took over from former prime minister Edison James.

In a release after the results were released, Skerrit said he wanted to thank Dominicans for conducting themselves “properly throughout the campaign and minimizing the incidence of intimidation, violence and destruction which we often see taking place elsewhere”. But in an immediate response, Opposition Leader Linton stated that the election result was one based on intimidation and bribery and accused the ruling party of orchestrating such a strategy to ensure it remained in power.
Extracted and modified from Caribbean 360


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.